These United States

These United States (Released 6/12/12)

Buy now!..

These United States eponymous new album is due out on June 12th with United Interests. The s/t full-length was written and recorded throughout 2011 with 20 outside musical collaborators from coast to coast, serving as a culmination of bandleader Jesse Elliott’s geographical aspirations. Inspired by the incredible mix of stories and people across the country, Elliott returned to Kentucky and New York over several sessions to longtime band partners J. Tom Hnatow, Justin Craig, and Robby Cosenza to make sense—and sound—of it all.

These United States is the band’s fifth studio album and features collaborations with John McCauley of Deer Tick, Michael Nau of Cotton Jones, Matthew Houck of Phosphorescent, Laura Burhenn of The Mynabirds, Ben Sollee, David Moore of Langhorne Slim, Josh Read of Revival, and the entire Frontier Ruckus band. Recorded with Duane Lundy (Jim James, Ben Sollee, Adam Arcuragi) and Justin Craig, the LP is a rambunctious melting pot of rock-and-roll, psych pop, folk balladry, and outlaw country. It’s a concept album that acts as a panoramic snapshot of numerous American musical styles over the past century, but still looks forward to the weird new world at the completion of the Mayan calendar.
“The live fury and energy of These United States did not disappoint as Elliott and his band left the Metro stage, a successful seamless mess.” – Consequence of Sound

“On the group’s aptly self-titled fifth album, Elliott reaffirms his appetite for life and adventure but with an added sense of urgency..TUS’ most upbeat album.” – Relix

Track listing (click track title for lyrics):

1. Dead & Gone * FREE MP3
2. Born YoungFREE MP3
3. Let the River In
4.Miss Underground
5. Maps
6. Two Gods
7. Not Gone Tonight
8. So Sweet to be Back
9. The Angel’s Share
10. The Park
11. Vince
12. Never Stop Falling